In 1972 Archbishop Rush appointed Fr John Egan the foundation priest of the newly established Our Lady of the Rosary Parish. Up until then the sleepy seaside township and the hinterland communities of Beerwah, Landsborough and Maleny were looked after by the priests from Caboolture.
Next year will mark the Golden Anniversary of the establishment of our Parish.
Long time visitor to our Parish, Vince Hodge, came across the book Growth of Caloundra by Erica Riis at the local library. From it he pulled out several points that connect the church to the early growth of Caloundra.
- Church opened in 1952 in Mahia Terrace on land donated by Mr Robertson.
The Landsborough Church (opened in 1954) uses the same plan as the Caloundra church.
- In 1963 the church is relocated to Edmund Street on land donated by Mr Farlow. Cyclone threatened it in 31 Dec 1962/1 January 1963.
- Transepts added to give Cruciform T-shape
- Small flat was added at rear of the church as overnight accommodation for priest
- In 1979 the nave was extended on either side to give rectangular shape.
- In the 1990s the covered entrance over driveway and set down area was constructed.
There are lots of gaps in our parish story and our golden anniversary is an ideal opportunity to fill in the gaps and celebrate where we have come from. Our memories are full of personalities and events that are sewn into the rich tapestry of our Parish history. So that we give ourselves enough time to plan appropriately we would like to form a steering committee to help us as we celebrate 50 years. If you are interested in being involved please email. [email protected]